Skip to content

Hush n Wonder

fashion, food, and all things fabulous

I just can’t justify spending $28 on Chanel facial cleanser (And yes, embarassingly enough, there was a time when I did).  In an effort to save money, I’ve resorted to switching over to drugstore brands for many of my beauty essentials.  The process was definitely trial and error, so below I listed my top beauty finds. Hopefully they can help you save some money as well – and just think of how many more cute pairs of shoes you can buy with the money you save!
  • Call me behind the loop, but Essie Nailpolish has become an obsession of mine.  The colors are absolutely amazing, and they are super easy to apply.
  • Exfoliation is key, ladies!  And I’ve yet to find a better exfoliator than St. Ive’s Apricot Scrub.  I go through about a bottle a month, and use it on my shoulders and arms as well as my face to stay silky soft.
  • When the weather gets humid, I can’t live without my Clean & Clear Oil Absorbing Sheets.  I carry a pack in my purse, and they eliminate shine without smudging makeup. 
  • Although it’s on the pricier side, I have an addiction to Paul Mitchell’s Awapuhi Shampoo.  But I prefer using it as a body wash.  The smell is divine and it leaves skin fragrant and smooth. 
  • A white smile is a must, but white strips are pricey.  To give my teeth and my budget a little break, I use Rembrandt Intense Stain Whitening Toothpaste.  It works wonders.
  • When staying in London, I discovered Boots No 7 High Shine Lip Gloss in Dream.  It’s now available at Target and it rivals my Chanel Glossameir.  Not too sticky, lots of colors.
  • For a summery glow Physicians Formula Shimmer Strips are amazing.  I use them to highlight cheek bones and brows, and dabbing a little on the corners of eyes adds instant brightness to the face.
  • Eye creams can cost a pretty penny at department stores.  But Alba Green Tea Eye Gel is soothing and keeps delicate under eye area smooth without breaking the bank.
  • If you haven’t tried this one yet, you’re really missing out.  Smith’s Rosebud Salve (really, I’ve tried many brands, all work great) is wonderful for lips, chapped hands, or rough elbows.  It’s also fragrant enough to take the place of perfume.
Tags: , ,

