Skip to content

Hush n Wonder

fashion, food, and all things fabulous

[“Where should one use perfume?” a young woman asked. “Wherever one wants to be kissed,” I said.] Coco Chanel

Scent is the strongest sense tied to memory.   Over the years, I’ve found that no truer words have been spoken.  It’s amazing the way a whiff of Tommy Girl can take  me back to the fifth grade.  Or how the scent of laundry detergent and orange pop reminds me of visiting my grandparents as a little girl.  And I can still tell you the perfume every single one of my college roommates wore. I especially love getting a new perfume for vacations.  That way, every time you wear it afterwards it instantly brightens your day.  For instance, on my first stay in Miami, I had just bought

Rose petals about to be made into perfume in Grasse.

Lancome’s Hypnose.  And when I was on springbreak in Acapulco I was wearing Lanvin’s Eclat D’Arpege.  And Kenneth Cole Black  instantly reminds me of showing horses at Freedom Hall for the very first time.  I recently made a list of all the perfumes I wore at different times in my life, and there are several I’m going to make sure I go out and buy.    If you’re in the market for new perfumes, I suggest going to My Perfume Life.  This is a great blog that gives fantastic reviews of a plethora of different perfumes.   Someday, I also hope to make it to Grasse, France where all the perfumeries are.  Perfume making is such an ancient art and is something I’d love to witness first hand.  I also found some very helpful perfume shopping tips here.  There’s nothing better than finding the perfect fragrance, and like all things that are worth it, it takes a little time.  And remember, it was Coco Chanel who also said, “A woman who doesn’t wear perfume has no future.”  A little dramatic, maybe, but I like it.

Tags: , , , ,

