Skip to content

Hush n Wonder

fashion, food, and all things fabulous

It has recently been drawn to my attention that there are very few posts in my blog dedicated to food.   So below, I’m listing some of my favorite snacks (that are on the healthier side!)  I highly recommend all of these treats and I’ve posted links to the ones that require recipes

Truffle Oil Popcorn

This is a light snack, and a much healthier option than plain old buttered popcorn.  I also definitely recommend air popping your own corn.   This recipe includes parmasean cheese, which is delicious, but if I’mbeing health conscious, I’ll omit the cheese. 

Crostinis and Horseradish Dip

This is my go-to comfort snack.  Crostinis are by far the best crackers I’ve ever consumed (both the original and the rosemary flavor will work for this) and there’s  something about having them with a horseradish dip that is so delicious.  My best friend Brooke and I used to eat this treat in high school while watching The Real World.  This is a recipe for a good horseradish dip, otherwise the storebought kind works fine too.

Greek Yogurt with Nuts and Honey

My friend Abbey got me hooked on Greek yogurt, and there’s nothing better than a light greek yogurt for breakfast with honey and nuts (I prefer to use walnuts, but any kind would really work)  It’s light, but it keeps you satisfied until lunch.  It’s also great for a late night snack, that won’t get you too full, but is a sweet treat.

Insalata Caprese

I love to make a whole bunch of this tomato and mozzarella salad, and eat it as a snack throughout a week.  The flavors are amazing, and it’s easy to make, as you can see here.   It’s also carb-free, which is a major plus when you’re wanting something savory but healthy. 

Mango Guacamole

Guacamole is a bit of an obsession for my friends and I.  We eat it all the time, and this recipe, compliments of Rick Bayless, is my favorite by far. The mango adds a sweetness that traditional guacamoles don’t have without being overpowering.  It’s also one of the healthiest snacks you can have when you substitute the tortilla chips for slices of cucumber or jimica. 

Tags: , , , , ,

