Skip to content

Hush n Wonder

fashion, food, and all things fabulous

After the long weekend, I was shocked when I looked down at the calender to see it’s already September 8th.  And as much as I’m looking forward to sweaters and pumpkins, I’m quite sad to say goodbye to lazy summer days, cotton sundresses, and strappy sandals.  And I found myself even more forlorn about summer’s end when I was flipping through the channels and came across The Talented Mr. Ripley.   If you’re not familiar, the movie takes place on the Italian seaside, and features Gwyneth Paltrow as Marge Sherwood looking molto elegante in chic white blouses knotted at the waste, retro-style bikinis, and prim A-line skirts.  These perfectly calculated looks are thanks to Oscar winning costume designer Ann Roth, who has also styled movies such as Mamma Mia, The Hours and The English Patient.  So instead of lamenting over all the airy summer trends I can no longer wear, I decided it was best to take advantage of the end of season sales.   So with the elegantly feminine, and perfectly polished Marge Sherwood as my inspiration, I found some summer steals too good to pass up.

1

2

3

4
5
 

6

1.  Thread Social, summer knit dress at Shopbop.com

2. Sardinia Wedge Espadrille at J Crew

3.  Stud Lace Slip Skirt at Topshop

4.  Seafarer Military Blazer at Shopnastygal.com

5.  Alexis Blondi Scalloped Edge Bikini at Shopstyle.com

6.  C. Keers, Heliconius top, at Anthropologie

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

