Skip to content

Hush n Wonder

fashion, food, and all things fabulous

Once upon a time, a long time ago (4 months), far, far away (Chicago) there was a girl (me)  working retail (at Cusp.)  On a particularly slow day, a tiny woman with a Birkin that made my jaw drop and a Chloe blouse I recognized from Vogue entered the store.  She promptly grabbed me and instructed me to select some outfits for her.  I spent the next four hours with her and she proceeded to tell me her life story.  Normally I would have been completely annoyed (she only ended up buying one shirt)  but I was completely entranced by her tales.    Her name was Samira and she is an interior designer who was born in Dubai but grew up in London. Her best friend Killian is also her stylist and she would have married him in a heartbeat if he were straight.  Kate Moss’s nick name for her is “Midget” and she plans on writing a book on beauty.   Below are some of the beauty tips she gave me.  I’ve tried them all and I can only pray that this wonderfully opulent and gorgeous little woman ends up publishing her beauty secrets.

  • Exfoliator –    Samira said the very best exfoliator is one you make. It consists of sugar and a little olive oil.  I was skeptical at first, but tried it and skin is left radiant and smooth.
  • Steam Yourself – To really relax, Samira said create a steam bath with rose water and lemons.   When I did this, I came to the conclusion that this must be what heaven smells like.  It’s so relaxing and it leaves you smelling wonderful as well. 
  • Olive Oil –   For flawless skin, she told me to take a tablespoon of olive oil a day (the more expensive the better).   When Samira told me her age, I had guessed about 20 years too young, so it’s obviously working. 
  • Honey –   When craving something sweet, instead of going for a candy bar, have some honey.  Drizzle a little on some wheat toast or a cracker.  Or try putting a dollop in some tea.
  • Egg Whites for Taut Skin –  To reduce the size of pores and fine lines just separte the yolk from the whites and apply the egg whites to your face for 15 minutes.  Although not the most pleasant 15 you’ll spend, the result is certainly worth it. 
Tags: , , , , , ,

