Skip to content

Hush n Wonder

fashion, food, and all things fabulous

There is something wonderfully relaxing about thumbing through a good cookbook.     I’m not much of a cook, but I have an inexplicable love for food and find planning a good meal to be one of my favorite things to do.   I do owe the little talent I do have to some wonderful cookbooks. Below are my favorite cookbooks that I use on a regular basis.  The recipes are delicious and instructions are clear and easy to understand.

Great Gatherings – Star Chefs Entertain :  I stole this cookbook from my mom and am in absolute love with it.  Star chefs like Tyler Florence, Cat Cora, and Rick Bayless prepare a whole menu for a dinner party and even provide music suggestions and table settings.  This is also where I found my favorite mango guacamole recipe. 

Moosewood Restaurant Low Fat Favorites :  There is nothing better than finding recipes that are as healthy as they are delicious and this particular cookbook is full of them.  The recipes are so unique and although they are all vegetarian, it’s easy to substitute in meat or chicken.  I added grilled chicken strips to the sweet potato burrito and really fell in love.

In Style Parties :   If you’re looking for fun cocktail recipes, I highly recommend this book.  The illustrations and pictures are beautiful as well and provide wonderful inspiration for party planning.  It also covers basics like how to set a table and good resources for food and decor. 

Goose Berry Patch – Flavors of Fall :  Really, I love all the Goose Berry Patch cookbooks, but since it’s autumn I thought I would feature Flavors of Fall.  If looking for belly-warming goodness, this is the cookbook for you.  Recipes like the beef stroganoff and sweet potato pie are total comfort foods that are prefect for chilly nights.    And recipes are collected from all across the country, so it’s a good variety of home made favorites.

Barefoot Contessa Back to Basics – I just ordered this and can’t wait to try Ina’s different recipes.  This one comes to me highly recommended – recipes are easy to follow and Ina gives wonderful cooking tips.   I’ll make sure I share the recipes I make! 

What are your favorite cookbooks?  I’m always looking to invest in good literature!

