Skip to content

Hush n Wonder

fashion, food, and all things fabulous

"A Beautiful World," by Grandma Moses, 1948

Above is a painting that is so detailed, everytime I look at it I notice something different.  With it’s soft colors, feathery brush strokes, and strategic placement of objects, it’s easy to let your eyes wander across this beautiful landscape.   I love it when clothes allow you to do the same thing – they are intricate without being obnoxious or overwhelming, and let your eye gradually discover the tiny embellishments that add something special to a piece.  I’ve compared art to fashion before (seen here and here) and really find it to be so inspiring.  Below are some pieces with gorgeous details that add a certain pop and make these pieces extra special. 

Nanette Lepore, Phillipe Sweater, $348

I saw this sweater and instatnly started to set some money aside to save up for it.  The deep-v neck, the sparkly, studded shoulders and the boxy fit make it the perfect comfy sweater that can also be dressed up without being uber formal.

Forever 21, Floral Woven Tunic, $24.80

The gorgeous floral pattern, funky cut-outs, sheer fabric, and waist cinching belt make this such an interesting piece.   It reminds me of a 3.1 Philip Lim dress I was lusting for last spring, but at a much nicer price!

Mod Cloth, Again and Again Skirt, $37.99

This skirt could be worn so many ways – I see it with a chunky grey sweater, black tights and boots, or dressed up with heels, a sparkly tank and blazer.  The black waist band is adorable, and i love the sheer layers.

Lindsey Thornburg Cloak, Colloa Grey, $900

I will never be able to spend $900 on a cloak (at least not in the forseeable future) but I’m just so in love with this.  The pattern is gorgeous, and I can just imagine wrapping up in it on blustery days.  If anyone knows about a similar but more affordable option, please let me know.

Marc by Marc Jacobs, Cheeky Faux Fur Scarf, $280

A warm scarf should be a staple in every woman’s wardrobe, and what’s cozier than faux fur?  I love the grey color against the navy and white polka-dot ties.  Such a fun combination.

Zara, Ethnic Print T-Shirt, $25.90

I get more use out of good t-shirts than I do any other article of clothing.  I love slightly slouchy cut of this and the bright pattern.   T’s like this are perfect to pair under chunky sweaters or jackets.

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

