Skip to content

Hush n Wonder

fashion, food, and all things fabulous

It’s been unbelievably cold, rainy, and windy in the Midwest lately, and when evening hits, all I’m worried about it getting warm and cozy.    It’s nights like this when there is nowhere I’d rather be than in the comfort of my own home.  These are nights that are meant to be spent completely relaxed in pajamas with a good cuddle partner.  Below are some of my essentials for a night inside.

There is nothing more romantic than a fireplace.  Growing up, my parents built fires every night possible in the winter and everything about them is comforting – from the smell, to the sound, to the warm heat, I can’t think of a better way to start off an evening.

As far as comforting cocktails, hot toddys are the best.   If feeling a little under the weather, a little honey, lemon, and whiskey will certainly make you feel better and is so fun to sip by the fire.  I’m also a fan of Tom & Jerry’s.

Everyone has a favorite blanket, and they are a very important part of a relaxing night.  I love going to my parents house and still using the blankets that I used when I was a little girl. 

When the weather is frightful, I’m all about comfort food.  Pizza is my go-to, specifically take-out.  I love not having to worry about preparing a meal or doing dishes, but still being deeply satisifed with my dinner.

Of course, there does need to be some entertainment at home.  I prefer lots of fashion magazines with wondrfully mindless television on in the background (such as Say Yes to the Dress.  I’m addicted.)

Tags: , , , , , ,

