Skip to content

Hush n Wonder

fashion, food, and all things fabulous

I’ve mentioned my favorite guacamole in the past. I made it again last night and came to the conclusion that it was worthy of its own post. Lately I’ve been overindulging in my cool-weather favorites – lots of soups, casseroles, and cinnamony desserts. And let me just say, the fresh flavors of my mango guacamole were such a welcome change. Below is the recipe that I use to make mango guacamole, a slight variation of Rick Bayless’ renown recipe and makes just enought for four people.

Mango Guacamole-

  • 3 ripe avocados
  • 1 lime
  • 1/2 red onion
  • 1/4 small mango
  • 2 tablespoons of cilantro
  • 1 fresh jalepeno
  • salt to taste

I’ve gotten to the point where I pretty much eyeball my ingredients. I don’t like too much mango, and I think a pretty good rule to go by is that the mango amount is about the same size as the onion amount I’ll add. Also, I like to prepare the guacamole a couple hours before serving so that the flavors can marinate. Another good tip is to keep an avocado pit in the guacamole to keep it from browning, and of course, the less it’s exposed to air, the greener it will stay.

Tags: , , ,

