Skip to content

Hush n Wonder

fashion, food, and all things fabulous

Lemons kind of have a bad rap. Life giving you lemons is a bad thing, a car that’s a lemon is one that’s defective, and it’s always the lemon Starbursts and gummy bears that are last to be eaten. But I have to tell you, lemons are one of my favorite ways to flavor food. When I was younger I bought a lemon cookbook, and the recipes were much too complex for my 11 year old self, and they probably still would be, but I remember looking through the cookbook for hours thinking how lemons are such a beautiful fruit. I was craving lemon bars this weekend, and was all set to make some. But when I flipped on the Food Network (per usual) Paula Deen was making these decadent little desserts called ‘lemon blossoms’. From their petite size, to the sugary glaze, I knew this was going to be a treat I’d love. When I made them Sunday evening they were the perfect way to end a lazy day. Below is the recipe, and beware it makes a LOT.

Ingredients:

4 large eggs
3 1/2 ounce package instant lemon pudding mix
18 1/2 ounce package yellow cake mix
3/4 cup vegetable oil

Glaze:
4 cups confectioners’ sugar
1/3 cup fresh lemon juice
grated zest of 1 lemon
3 tablespoons vegetable oil
3 tablespoons water

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

Spray miniature muffin tins with vegetable oil cooking spray. Combine the cake mix, pudding mix, eggs and oil and blend well with an electric mixer until smooth, about 2 minutes. Pour a small amount of batter, filling each muffin tin half way. Bake for 12 minutes. Turn out onto a tea towel.

Tags: , , ,

