Skip to content

Hush n Wonder

fashion, food, and all things fabulous

I arrived home for Christmas in Wisconsin last night and couldn’t be happier to be back with my family.  The night was spent relaxing with a ham dinner and lots of HGTV (both pretty typical at the Berget household.)  The comfort and familiarty of these activities got me thinking about the random things that are tradition in our family around the holidays. 

Bailey’s  At Random Times – Anyone who knows my mom knows she’s not much of a drinker, but she does have a love for Bailey’s.  A couple years ago, we were working on Christmas cards in the middle of the afternoon and she decided it was a good time for some of the Creamy liquor.  Since then, we’ve made Bailey’s a Christmas tradition and it really does make the perfect nightcap on a snowy evening.

– Laying by the Fire – My sister and I take turns laying directly in front of our fireplace.  We’ve done this for as long as I can remember and it’s our favorite spot in the house.  I mentioned my love for fire places here and am certain in stems from there constantly being a fire in the fireplace during all the chilly winter months.

Fondu & Cranberry Pudding – Fondu is my family’s favorite meal and one that we always had on Christmas day along with my mom’s delicious cranberry pudding (expect a post on this in the future & get excited for it cause it’s amazing.)  The best part of fondu, is it makes it a long, drawn out meal, perfect for a snowy evening.

Horses in the Snow – The re’s nothing like going out to the barn on a snowy day.  The horses at our house aren’t really rideable, but it’s still fun to go out and see how furry they’ve become and chase them around (I’m sure the neighbors wonder, but that’s okay.)

Christmas Eve Car Ride –  Every Christmas Eve we go to my Grandma and Grandpa Erickson’s.  The ride home is always late, and there’s something very cozy about all of us being stuck in the car for an hour while listening to Christmas music on the way home. 

What are your favorite holiday traditions?

