Skip to content

Hush n Wonder

fashion, food, and all things fabulous

If only I were part of the Gossip Girl cast, then could I be the face of some luxury label for Spring 2011?  First it was Blake Lively for Chanel and now Leighton Meester is the face of Missoni.  Honestly, I love it.  Two of my favorite young actresses representing two of my favorite brands?  It’s amazing.

I’ve yet to see any of Lively’s ads for Chanel, but I’m seriously crushing on Meester in the carefree, funky, and slightly nerdy shots she’s done for the Italian designers.  The photos are anything but pretentious and they have a realistic, polaroid feel, that is so refreshing.  Leighton looks right at home in funky prints, barely there makeup, and playful poses.

Angela Missoni explained that, “images were inspired by St. Pepper Lonely Hearts Club Band, by that record cover conceived by the great British pop artist Peter Blake. A work that, in my opinion, perfectly summarizes the spirit of our collection, its playful shapes, cut out and silhouetted against space. I have therefore asked the great artist to realize a big collage of portraits for our campaign. And, to my great joy, he accepted.”

Although she’s my personal favorite, Leighton isn’t the only star of this ad campaign.  Margherita Missoni, Camilla Al Fayed, Jacquetta Wheeler, and Tatiana Santo Domingo, to name a few, will appear in the Spring/Summer ad campaign as well.


Tags: , , , , ,

