Skip to content

Hush n Wonder

fashion, food, and all things fabulous

I’d like to start this post by letting everyone know that I’m a Libra.  I don’t care that the axis of our planet has shifted in the past 2,000 years, my sign has not changed, I am not a Virgo, I am a Libra, through and through.

And in true Libra fashion, I love nothing more than to indulge in the finer things in life, and during these cold winter months that is exactly what dry skin, dull hair, and pale complexions need.  Here are my beauty must-haves to  stay fresh looking during the bleak months of winter.

I know you’ve probably heard it a million times, but the reviews are true, people – MoroccanOil is an amazing thing!   I personally use the shampoo, conditioner, hair spray, shine spray, oil, and conditioning mask and it leaves my hair the healthiest it’s ever felt.   If you want to start your collection slowly, start with the Original MorrocanOil Oil Treatment ($19).  Put a teensy amount in damp hair and notice a huge difference. My tiny bottle lasted about 6 months.

***

I first bought this lotion because it’s “Norwegian Formula” and I’m almost 100% Norwegian.  Yeah, I’m that girl.   But good thing I am, because I can’t imagine my winters without this wonder lotion.  Like the name suggests, Neutrogena Moisture Wrap ($7) leaves skin beyond quenched and the smell is soft and comforting.  I love it.

***

Exfoliating is always important, especially in the winter.  But when my skin is extra dry and sensitive I take a break from my St. Ives Apricot Scrub (that I use as a body exfoliator, too) and switch to The Body Shop’s Aloe Gentle Exfoliator ($14.50).    It still does it’s job getting rid of dead skin, but adds an exta dose of moisture dry skin needs.

***

As much as I moisturize, my face looks dull this time of year.  MAC Strobe Cream ($29.90) is a godsend.  I layer it on top of my normal face moisturizer and it makes skin nice and dewey, a feat not easily accomplished when I haven’t seen sun or humidity in months.   Also prevents foundation and powders from looking cakey.

***

I feel frumpy if my skin isn’t glowing and in winter months, too much bronzer looks fake and orange.  To accomplish a healthy glow I turn to my Estee Lauder Tender Sheer Blush Stick ($25).  It adds an extra pop of color without loading on the makeup and is perfect over a light concealer.

***

I use this product not what it’s intended for – so if you’re going to try it be careful and don’t get it in your eyes!  I use Boots Rose Cold Cream ($7.99) around my eyes and the extra rich cream takes off eye makeup in a snap.  It also refreshes sensitive skin around the eye area.  It’s way too oily for me to use as a moisturizer, but it takes care of rough elbows too!

***

My hair is a fragile thing in the winter, so I baby it.   A lot.  Instead of ripping through knots with a normal brush, I use a wide toothed comb to slowly get rid of tangles.  This Detangling Brush from the Body Shop ($7) is the size you want.  I also try to avoid blowdrying and styling as much as possible in the winter.

***

The best investment I’ve made this winter has to be a humidifier!  I leave this Vick’s Germ Free Humidifier ($63.50) on when I’m sleeping and have avoided chapped lips and scratchy throats that accompany dry air.    It also helps cut back on pesty static the leaves shirts clinging and hair fluffy!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

